We have had a lot of changes, difficult decisions and big life events over the past couple of years.  I am hoping for more consistency this year with a few new changes.

I apologize for all the changes we have been having since we opened in 2009 however as I learn about the breed, the people and the demand I have to update things accordingly.  So I can not promise that there will not be anymore changes I just ask that you bare with me as we figure out a good operation that works well for us. 

Just to update a bit:

I was hired at a company full time at the end of 2011 which I love, you can read more about it in the about us section on the site.  So I am working 40 hours during the week but have the weekends mostly to myself.  There when I first started I was also working at a gas station part time, I mean lets face it jobs are hard to come by so when I was offered two at the same time I took it.  My schedule was crazy from August 2011 - November 2011 where I was working 7 days a week.  My schedule was 3-11 Monday thru Friday at the company I'm at now then on Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights I worked at the gas station from 12AM to 8AM so two of my jobs were over lapping on Fridays and Sundays.  It was very tough to do and I only had two days off that entire period and only because I asked.  I finally had to quit the gas station for my health and sanity.  So during that period I was not breeding and all my rats were staying with my close friend.  My schedule at work of course got more difficult as soon as I left the gas station.  I had one full weekend off then I started doing 12 hour shifts on the weekends because we became short staffed.  That went on clear into almost August of 2012.  It was very close.  I am now getting onto a schedule I feel comfortable with having a small amount of rats again and I am breeding at a small scale.

I am now engaged, we will be getting married in September of this year if all goes to plan :).  I have also joined a local gym which I am going 3 days a week with my fiance and good friend and then 2 more days a week to see my personal trainer.  So we have been very busy here!

I am going to start blogging again.  I'm going to try to do at least once a month sometimes more sometimes less just depends on our schedules.  Some of my entries will be about babies and this and that, some maybe about events I'd like to try or things coming up.  Sometimes it maybe just a bit random.  We will just have to see.

I feel this year is going to be a good year for the rattery.  New year, new me!  I am going to be putting forth more effort into the rat store and hopefully get that going as we can always use the sales to benefit the rats!  I DO NOT make money off of the rats.  I work full time as stated above, my fiance is currently working part time.  We make pretty decent money however it goes straight into our bills and our pets.  Mostly pets haha.  I pay for my rats out of pocket, I would like for them to be more self sufficient which is one of my major goals this year.  Any suggestions are defiantly welcomed for the rat store or what ever you have in mind :)

Anywho, thanks for reading all my rambles.  I just wanted to get this kick started!  Hope you enjoy

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.